Sri Lanka clinch T20 Asia Cup 2022 Title

By TOI Editor   6 September 2022   Replace on : 6 September 2022 Sri Lanka gained…

By TOI Editor  
6 September 2022  
Replace on : 6 September 2022

Sri Lanka gained the T20 Asia Cup 2022 remaining in a grand fashion towards Pakistan in Dubai on Sunday. Pakistan had been all out and 23 runs quick from the benchmark Sri Lanka set for them.

Wanindu Hasaranga’s three wickets with the ball following an exuberant batting and Bhanuka Rajapaksa’s excellent 71 not out helped Sri Lanka clinch the title of Asia Cup for the sixth time. Sri Lankan bowler Pramod Madushan, in his second worldwide match ever, now has 4 wickets within the remaining.

The Asia Cup 2022 was filled with ups and downs from each Sri Lanka and Pakistan on the Dubai Worldwide Cricket Stadium in Dubai on September 11, 2022.

Though Mohammad Rizwan’s 55 of 49 balls raised some hope for Pakistan, it went in vein as there was hardly any batter from Pakistan to face regular and make runs towards Sri Lanka.

Pakistan had been very torpid on the sphere because the gamers dropped catches, gave further runs from midfield and so forth. Alternatively, Sri Lankan fielders had been filled with power on the sphere.

Pakistan began batting and received 9 bonus runs within the very first over. The primary ball was referred to as a no-ball. The Sri Lankan bowler Madushanka puzzled and bowled a collection of vast balls, considered one of which swings approach down the leg facet for 4, which means that earlier than a authorized supply is even bowled, Sri Lanka conceded 9.

After dropping early wickets Sri Lanka had been in a repair however because of Bhanuka Rajapaksa, the center order batter, who helped Sri Lanka to achieve 170 for six. He knocked a superb 71 not out of simply 45 balls with a strike price of greater than 157.  Wanindu Hasaranga’s 36of 21 balls and Dhananjaya de Silva’s 28 of 21 balls had been additionally efficient to set a goal of 171 runs in 20 overs.

See also  WPC2029: Registration, Participation, Every part You Have to Know

Pakistan’s quick bowler Haris Rauf bagged three wickets giving 29 runs in 4 overs. Naseem Shah, Shadab Khan, and Iftikhar Ahmed received one wicket every.

Pakistan gained the toss and selected to bowl first.

Sri Lanka squad:

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Pramod Madushan, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka.

Pakistan squad:

Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Hasnain.